Max boost on stock MAP sensor

finnigan001

Feeling like a bit of noob here but having an issue with my car.  Trying to pin point it. I've narrowed it to either torque requestors or MAP sensor.

Having an issue that when i try target boost over 17psi or boost goes over 17-18psi i get what feels like a boost cut.  So originally i thought is was over boost but i disabled that. I've gone through most the traction control settings turning them off one by one.   Nothings has any effect so im thinking MAP sensor.  If i peg it 16psi i haven't really noticed the 'boost cut'.  Which leads me back to MAP sensor.

I think i've read somewhere at some stage the 2 bar MAP is 14psi vacuum and the rest boost which would make sense. Would going over this cause the affect above. A sort of boost cut?

Funny thing is i've never read about anyone changing there MAPs for running 20-23psi on E85.

HALP ?

So doing a little more trawling. I found the link below which is exactly the issue.  Everyone seems to be able to run higher.

https://www.fordxr6turbo.com/forum/topic/83691-fg-map-sensor-is-it-1-bar-if-so-what-happens-if-you-go-over-1-bar/?tab=comments#comment-1352787

Is there something else at play here i'm missing. I notice there is a TMAPControl in the customOS and is set to TMAP switch to boost sensor after TMAP_Volts. I'm confused here. Thought the TMAP was the boost sensor??  Maybe there is some other setting i'm supposed to shut off?

Cheers guys

Finnigan,

The stock TMAP and Boost sensors for the turbo Falcon are rated to 255 Kpa. 100Kpa is atmospherics pressure so 155Kpa of boost or about 22.5psi. It is more likely you are exceeding the voltage limits for the boost and TMAP sensors which will cause the clip. Raise these to 5.0V and see if that resolves the issue:

image.thumb.png.4d39a8c8c900c20b13e6e6273417b19f.png

• Like 1