BA xr8 being supercharged

crosdp

well first off hello all!

currently in the process of installing a 2.3l kennebell supercharger, some crows cams to suit 8-10psi and the needed supported valve springs and a uprated fuel system to match.

i am a mechanic and have a pretty good knowledge with basic tuning and that were this all comes in to play i guess!!

im guessing im best of to get a read from the stock car before i start the mods? as im still waiting on a few things to get over here to start the build

Thanks all for the time if ya do happen to read this!!

i will end up at a dyno one day but this will be a longish build ill need to be able to get on and off trailers for a few things!

Howdy mate that will be a sick build when it's all done. Yes you want to read the tune before you get modding so you have it as a backup. You will want to have a look at some stock super8 files so you get an idea of the difference between them and the na file. If you cant access them I'll pull my finger out and post up a few.

What I would start with is getting a wideband permanently installed so you see what the car does in day to day driving. You may want to have one for each bank for the extra data and safety that provides. You will need a dlp8 to get the afr data into the datalog, there is info on the forum about it. You will need a set of knock ears, they are vital for getting the timing correct on 98 octane. Boosted engines, especially stock ones, break fairly easily when they have detonation. When you get to using E85 a dyno will show you where the tune is showing diminishing returns. You will want a fuel pressure gauge that can feed the data into the datalog. You can see when a pump is running out if you have experience but it's a no brainer to have the data there to see if the pressure is falling off.