Automated injector scaling

CoreyG

Hi Everyone,

I'm a data scientist by trade and have been considering throwing together a script that could aid in dialing in injector slopes, breakpoint and deadtime. The input would be a reasonable size datalog of AFR, injector pulse widths and such.

Using some non-linear optimization, it should be possible to identify what variables need to be changed to minimize lambda errors.

It should be possible to differentiate speed density errors from injector scaling errors, as the lambda errors will track with injector pulse width.

I've only just got my wideband sensor working on the bench (long story... did you know there are 720 ways to wire up a 6 wire sensor?). So I'll be doing some logging and prototyping. I'd be happy to have anybodies input on this.

• Like 4

A few things before you start, how will you calibrate your wideband to ensure it is accurate? Bad data is worse than no data and almost all aftermarket widebands give data that is wrong or become wrong very very quickly due to being damaged by being incorrectly heated/condensation. Ground voltage offsets are a big problem as well. 

How will you differentiate speed density errors from injector scaling errors when the car is not 100% stock? I bet your exhaust and intake is not stock hence back pressure will be different and you will have some kind of speed density change. You can end up with a chicken and egg problem here. 

How will you control variables such as ambient temp, coolant temp and humidity? 

Assuming you can solve the problems above how will you determine how much data is enough data? 

Do you plan to trial several injector sets to test the theory? 

I like the idea and we wanted to do something similar however it seemed impractical due to all the uncontrollable variables and the fact most cars are now heavily modified often with mechanical issues (eg fuel pressure not being regulated correctly)