VCT Tuning Territory NA conversion

Plumbs

ok, just a recap on my motor combo. Built turbo motor , not like u think lol. Used factory turbo rods and pistons. Hand ported Fg head and fg cams, 4' dump down to a 3" exhaust with straight throughs. So It may be different on your setup. So please check for knock as this increases cylinder pressure at peak torque . May even bend rods and a visit from Mr Rodney in Na engines ( may have to really baby timing in those areas and find a balance?).

Ok a disclaimer , I'm a newb at tuning , so be warned and proceed with caution!

Righto  ! So my Terry is 2005 , which means it has the lovely btr with the loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooogest 1st gear in histroy. This meant that in 1st gear it wouldnt come on boost till about 50 km. Not good for Chopping BMW's at the lights to the legal 60 k/hr speed limit! 

So through watching a utube vid (Bobby Mcboost) I picked up on tuning the VCT page.

So I add 3 deg through the 1500 to 4000 rpm tables from memory and hey presto ! was on boost at about 35 km?hr and low to mid range. Well I thought , " Well  more reated must be better !" 

It didnt make anymore differance , but knock was happening.  So back to previous setting, IVe been running E10 (94 oct ) as 98 is nearly $2 / lt Ive had to pull timing through the timing table even under .4to.6 load 1700 rpm and under boost . So check timing .

4 hours ago, Roland@pcmtec said:

You can also add overlap to assist with spool and reduce dynamic compression so you don't have to run crazy retarded spark. 

Awesome, can u point me in the right direction please? What’s the Auf number ? 
I’ll have a play with . I’m guessing another 2 deg of overlap in the appropriate areas  

8 minutes ago, Plumbs said:

Awesome, can u point me in the right direction please? What’s the Auf number ?